Why is this test given?

The Minnesota Comprehensive Assessments (MCAs) are a part of the state accountability system. They test how districts, schools, and students are doing on outcomes defined by the Minnesota Academic Standards. The results of these tests can help school districts make decisions about what and how they teach.

What is tested and who takes the tests?

Reading:    All students in grades 3-8 & 10.

Math:       All students in grades 3-8 & 11.

Science:   All students in grades 5 & 8; high school students enrolled in a biology course.

How do I read the results?

Students receive scale scores for each test taken; their achievement level on each test is based on the scale score. Scale scores are not percent scores. The four achievement levels (shown in the chart below) indicate varying degrees of student knowledge and skills.




Exceeds the Standards


Meets the Standards


Partially Meets the Standards


Does Not Meet the Standards

More information about MCAs is available from the Minnesota Department of Education.

View current test results, adequate yearly progress, school report cards, and student demographic information on the Minnesota Department of Education website.