Jennifer Kim MGSH Cancel Culture GoldOsseo Area Schools students received more than 100 awards from the 2020 Minnesota Scholastic Art Awards program, which recognizes outstanding student artists from across the state and provides scholarship opportunities for high school seniors. Artwork by the 19 Gold Key award winners is on display at the University of Minnesota’s Regis West Gallery (418 21st Ave. S, Minneapolis) from now through Feb. 22. Gallery hours are Tuesday-Saturday from 11 a.m. to 7 p.m.

The Scholastic Art & Writing Awards are the longest running, most prestigious competition and largest source of scholarships for creative teenagers in the United States. The awards program was created in 1923 by Maurice R. “Robbie” Robinson, founder of Scholastic Corporation, and has been administered by the Alliance for Young Artists & Writers since 1994. It has an impressive legacy and a noteworthy roster of past winners including Andy Warhol, Sylvia Plath, Truman Capote, Richard Avedon, Joyce Carol Oates and many others.

PHOTO: "Cancel Culture," a Gold Key-winning drawing by Maple Grove Senior High student Jennifer Kim. 

Gold Key winners

Ceramics and Glass

  • Peter Campbell, MGSH
  • Nina Feldman, MGSH
  • Michael Gorman, OSH
  • Jake Hurley, OSH
  • Hana Jakubovie, MGSH
  • Michelle Lam, PCSH
  • Kendall Potratz, OSH
  • Jordan Vylasek, OSH (two awards)
  • Jack White, OSH (two awards)

Drawing and Illustration

  • Jennifer Kim, MGSH (two awards)
  • Jim Lor, OSH
  • Jane Oh, OSH
  • Jacob Pearson, MGSH
  • Mya Trzynka, OSH


  • Gabby Bodin, OSH
  • Annalise Groff, OSH
  • Olivia Haik, MGSH
  • Greta Spanier, OSH (two awards)


  • Trenna Tafoya, MGSH (two awards)

michael lehanOsseo Senior High Principal Michael Lehan has been named the 2020 Minnesota High School Principal of the Year by the Minnesota Association of Secondary School Principals (MASSP). As the statewide high school winner, Lehan is eligible to be selected to represent Minnesota in the National Principal of the Year contest, sponsored by the National Association of Secondary School Principals.

Last June, Lehan was named the MASSP High School Principal of the Year for the Hennepin Division. In winning the overall statewide award this winter, MASSP Executive Director Dave Adney said Lehan embraces innovation and research at Osseo Senior High and “plays a critical role in leading a great school.”

While Lehan is grateful to win Minnesota High School Principal of the Year, he humbly acknowledges that his students, staff and families have played a large role in his success as a leader and educator.

“Our work centers around the scholars and families whom we serve; to know this award nomination originated with the scholars of Osseo Senior High is especially affirming and meaningful,” he said. “My scholars continue to be my motivation, and I am very appreciative of the Osseo Senior High educators for their willingness to embrace innovation and remain mission-focused.”