Osseo Area Schools student performance on state tests stayed true to trend, according to data released by the Minnesota Department of Education on July 30.

For a number of years, the trend has shown that Osseo students in lower grades demonstrate less mastery of reading and math on state tests than their statewide peers. By the time students move into secondary school, however, their scores tend to catch up or exceed statewide averages.

District staff attribute the gap-closing improvements to the focused work by teachers to help all students achieve at higher levels and to accelerate the progress of students who enter the district academically far behind their peers.

Several student groups made greater than average gains:

  • Reading and math: Asian, English learners and grade 8 students
  • Math: grade 5
  • Reading: grades 6-8, low income, and female students

Overall proficiency levels in math and reading remained relatively unchanged from last year.

Four of the five reported racial groups have proficiency rates above state averages, the exception being Asian students. 

The MCAs are one of the ways the state measures student achievement. In September, the state will release additional indicators that show how schools are doing to accelerate student growth, close the achievement gap on all measures, and improve graduation rates.

The new World’s Best Workforce legislation supports continued progress in those areas, along with ensuring that students are well prepared for kindergarten; read at grade level by grade three; and are college/career ready. The school district and all schools use test results and other data to develop continuous improvement plans.


--Published July 30, 2015

Would you love to help children grow their reading or math skills, succeed in school and get extra support? If your answer is yes, you can be trained to serve as a tutor with Minnesota Reading Corps and Minnesota Math Corps at a school near you!

Apply today

In addition to extensive training, tutors will receive on-site support from specially trained school mentors. Tutors come from many backgrounds and include recent high school and college grads, career changers, stay-at-home parents, and retirees. Tutors earn a living allowance (biweekly before taxes: $544 for full-time member/ $272 for part-time member), educational award ($5,730 for full-time member / $2,865 for part-time member), federal student loan forbearance, and other benefits, and have the chance to make a real difference in the life of a child.

To apply or learn more about the research based programs, position qualifications, and benefits, visit MinnesotaReadingCorps.org or MinnesotaMathCorps.org

. Questions? Contact recruitment@servemnaction.org or 866-859-2825. 

Positions are offered at the following Osseo Area schools:

Basswood Elementary

Birch Grove School for the Arts

Crest View Elementary

Edinbrook Elementary

Elm Creek Elementary

Fair Oaks Elementary

Fair Oaks Elementary School

Fernbrook Elementary

Garden City Elementary

Oak View Elementary

Palmer Lake Elementary

Park Brook Elementary

Weaver Lake Science Math & Tech

Willow Lane Early Childhood Center

Woodland Elementary

Zanewood Community