Jessica Gillespie (pictured on the left) and Donna Ohlgren (pictured in the middle) have been named Osseo Area Schools 2017 TIES Exceptional Teachers, an award recognizing educators who incorporate technology into their teaching and effectively engage students in hands-on learning opportunities. Additionally, Anthony Padrnos (pictured on the right) received the TIES Minnesota Technology Leader of the Year award.

JessicaGillespieDonnaOhlgrenAnthony Padrnos


Jessica Gillespie

A French teacher at Park Center Senior High, Jessica improves student achievement through the implementation of personal goal setting, personal learning playlists and personalized learning time. Because of her efforts, students are scoring higher on formative and summative assessments and taking more ownership over the path of their learning. Jessica shares her journey through her blog, Crafting a French Blend, participates in numerous Twitter chats, and coordinates with other teachers in the district.

Donna Ohlgren

A library media specialist at Rush Creek Elementary, Donna has a passion for using technology to provide hands-on, authentic, real-world learning opportunities for students. Three years ago, Donna started “Makerspace Mornings” at her school, where students can rotate among several maker rotations and experience making activities to promote problem solving, critical thinking, and creativity. She also coordinates coding and digital photography clubs where students learn various photography techniques.

Anthony Padrnos

Recognized for his excellence in leadership, innovation, community building, student learning and effective partnerships at Richfield Public Schools, Anthony received the TIES Minnesota Technology Leader of the Year award. As a former math teacher, he understands firsthand how important technology is in the classroom and in contributing to students’ learning. Anthony joined Osseo Area Schools in Nov. 2017 as the executive director of technology.



pre-kindergartners smiling with teacherApplications are now being accepted for the free half-day pre-kindergarten program in Osseo Area Schools for the 2018-2019 school year. Free pre-kindergarten classes will be offered at the following sites:

  • Birch Grove Elementary School for the Arts
  • Crest View Elementary
  • Edinbrook Elementary
  • Fair Oaks Elementary
  • Garden City Elementary
  • Palmer Lake Elementary
  • Park Brook Elementary
  • Zanewood Community School

Our free, half-day pre-kindergarten program for 4- and 5-year olds meets every school day. It features hands-on learning opportunities and a thoughtful, developmentally appropriate curriculum that will prepare your child for success in kindergarten and beyond.

How to apply

Please note: capacity is limited and lotteries will be used if applications exceed spaces available. Children must be at least 4-years old by September 1, 2018, to enroll. Transportation is available for eligible students.

Read the free pre-kindergarten brochure for more information.