Thirty-eight student artists from across the three Osseo Area Schools comprehensive high schools earned awards at the Minnesota State High School League Section 4AA/5AA Visual Arts Festival that took place earlier this month. 

The student artists submitted artwork in a variety of categories including photography, drawing, painting and ceramics. The work was judged by college and high school instructors and professional artists from around the state. Superior award winners notched the most points (30 and over) and the excellence award winners earned 20-29 points.

Two students from Osseo Senior High, Ricky Chanthavong and Emma Hauser, received top honors with the Judge's Choice Spotlight on the Arts awards and exhibited their work at the 2018 Minnesota State Visual Arts Exhibition on May 5.

Photos: Ricky Chanthavong's photograph (titled: Underground RickyC) is featured on the top right and Emma Hauser's ceramic artwork (titled: Relief Carved Flowers) is photographed on the bottom right.

Ricky Chanthavong


Superior award winners include:

  • Natalie Anderson (OSH)

  • Spencer Boeder (OSH)

  • Breanna Brock (OSH)

  • Ricky Chanthavong (OSH)

  • Maggie Cremers (MGSH)

  • Peter Gartner (MGSH)

  • Ben Gilbertson (OSH)

  • Emma Hauser (OSH)

  • Megan Houfek (OSH)

  • Jacob Hyers (MGSH)

  • Nate Lantaigne-Goetsch (OSH)

  • Angel Lee (PCSH)

    Emma Hauser
  • Chloe Kirks (MGSH)

  • Al-Arrat Mamadou (OSH)

  • Mikaela Marsh (MGSH)

  • Cynthia Moua (PCSH)

  • Warri Nagberi (MGSH)

  • Nyenekon Nikki Chea (MGSH)

  • Isaiah Oliver (OSH)

  • Jackson Orta (MGSH)

  • Ashley Parsons (MGSH)

  • Alexa Paulson (OSH)

  • Lily Perry (MGSH)

  • Erika Rojas (MGSH)

  • Emily Schlegel (MGSH)

  • Alex Schroer (MGSH)

  • Trenna Tafoya (MGSH)

  • Abby Trask (MGSH)

  • Rachel Watts (MGSH) 

  • Joseph Xiong (PCSH)

Excellence award winners include:

  • Lucy Bergeron (OSH)

  • Anthony Dalmacio (OSH)

  • Faith Her (OSH)

  • Jason Lin (MGSH)

  • Jaci Ramos (OSH)

  • Ethan Spinler (OSH)

  • Taylor Sorsveen (OSH)

  • Kelly Xiong (OSH)